Birding Can Be Puzzling – April 28th


Our Woods was cool (7° C.; 45° F.) on the morning of the 28th. My spotter and I went out around 8 AM. As we exited the wooded path into a grassy knoll my spotter saw this big bird in the woods near the stream where I flushed the heron on the 27th. I snapped this with my Sony Alpha A-6000 using its 200 mm zoom and DMF manual focus, since there was a lot of brush in between the lens and the bird. This heron is smaller than the Great Blue, but still a good size.

Using the 8X Bushnells I noted clearly that the eye was an unmistakable red. Before I could get a better picture it flew over our heads.  The eye colour and its other colouring narrowed it down to two possible night-herons: the Black-crowned and the Yellow-crowned. I cannot be sure which. The Black-crowned is more common this far north. I went out early this afternoon and didn’t spot it, but will be out there hoping to get a better photo tomorrow if it is still there. It looked a little stressed, so I don’t know. We also saw a sandpiper but they are tough to identify.

A few more photos from April 28:

 

Author: mytiturk

Travelbug Minstrel: Strum for my supper, croon for my cuppa Search for a sign, write for my whine

Leave a Reply

